Last weekend at Coco Beach, Florida, it took place the 23rd Calema Midwinter Festival. It looked at the beginning that only the Kona One Design boards and longboards would enjoy racing but the wind came in enough to finish 4 Formula races, with Gonzalo Costa winning them all. The overall finished with Costa in first, followed by Jesper Vestrestrom in second and Antoine Albeau (winner in the last 4 years) in third. This gave NeilPryde the podium, and looks like the RS:Racing is again the sail to challenge his year. The event is also the FW North America Championship, and Jimmy Díaz, 4th Overall, took the North American Champion title. The Kona division finished with Dave Stanger, Nevin Sayre and John Collins as winners in that order. This year saw the biggest junior fleet, which is is a really good sign of the growth of the sport.

Final Result: 1. Gonzalo Costa Hoevel (ARG-3) NeilPryde/F2 2. Jesper Vesterstrøm (DEN-111) NeilPryde/Starboard 3. Antoine Albeau (FRA-192) NeilPryde/Starboard

Photo Credit: