UKWA Rhosneigr

Well, it was an epic event for both wave and slalom. Full report here:,2971

Simon Crowther was on hand as event photographer, so we will be doing a full photo gallery in the next issue of the magazine, but for now, here is a taster of what you missed!!!


The Champion Ben Proffitt

Phil Horrocks sailed so well all weekend but broke two masts at a critical time during the competition

Nik Baker didn\’t enter but impressed the beach crowds with his wave riding

Jamie Hawkins, Rich Jones and Oisin Van Gelderen set off for a beach start slalom race

Phil Horrocks – classic backie

Jamie Hancock sailed well for a \’starboard tack sailor\’!

James Cox was unlucky, losing to Hancock by 0.5 of a point in the semis

Jamie Hancock jumps

Matt Pearch was a \’country mile\’ ahead of fellow racers in some of the slalom heats

Irish sailor Maurice Owens streaks ahead of Matt Pearch, Ant Baker and Rich Jones to the delight of the beach!

Louise Emery wins the Ladies at her local spot

Wave Winners: Jamie Hancock (2nd), Ben Proffitt (1st), Phil Horrocks (3rd)

Slalom Winners: Alan Jackson (2nd), Matt Pearch (1st), Jamie Hawkins (3rd) Oisin Van Gelderen (4th)

Jem Hall PA man has the last word from a great weekend of competition


Juniors: 1st Alex Gayda, 2nd Alex Mitchell

Ladies: 1st Louise Emery, 2nd Sarah Cotton, 3rd Sarah Finney


1st Dave Horrocks
2nd Alex Tritten
3rd Steve King
4th Clyde Waite
Joint 5th Alex Gayda, Chris Cunningham, Darren Thurston, Alex Mitchell, Sam Darkin


1st Nigel Treacy
2nd Mark Lloyd
3rd Gerry Wilcox
4th Damian De Backer
Joint 5th Phil Arderne & Chris Wilcox


1. Ben Proffitt             (Simmer Sails/Quatro/O\’Shea/Gul/Funsport)
2. Jamie Hancock     (Gun Sails/Quatro/BigSalty)
3. Phil Horrocks         (JP/NeilPryde/Plasma/Funsport)
4. John Skye                (Naish Sails/RRD/Animal)
Joint 5th
James Cox                   (Ezzy/Quatro)
Andy King                      (Goya)
Timo Mullen                  (Severne/Starboard/Fiat)
Oisin Van Gelderen     (NeilPryde/JP/Surfdock/RedBull/Mercedes-Benz)
Joint 9th
Graham Woods            (North Sails/Fanatic)
Mark Bell                         (Goya)
Nick Moffat                      (Goya)
Chris Murray                   (Goya)
Murray Saunders           (Goya/Quatro)
Sam Neal                        (NeilPryde/JP/Animal)
Jamie Hawkins              (NeilPryde/Exocet/Animal)

Slalom Top 4

1. Matt Pearch                (North Sails/Fanatic)
2. Alan Jackson             (Tushingham\’/Starboard)
3. Jamie Hawkins             (NeilPryde/Exocet)
4. Oisin Van Gelderen    (NeilPryde/JP)

NEXT JP/NEILPRYDE SLALOM EVENT: Aberdovey 14/15 June hosted by Boardwise.

NEXT WAVE EVENT: TBC Gwithian in September then the Tiree Wave Classic 10-17 October.





Photo Credit: S.Crowther


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.