News Headlines – Thurs 29th

So……Sylt. It\’s starting to feel like deja vu now because on day five there was……yep you guessed it, not very much wind.

For that reason, we\’re going to break with the week\’s tradition and deal with the Reno World Cup last.

We\’ll kick things off with some good news for Aruba\’s Sarah-Quita Offringa. She\’s only gone and got herself nominated for the International Sailing Federation\’s prestigious World Sailor of the Year 2011. She joins sailing luminaries such as Dee Caffari on the list of female nominations and we reckon it\’s well deserved too after a year in which she bagged the world freestyle and slalom titles. The winner will be announced on November 8…fingers crossed everyone.

If you have a windsurfing-loving loved one with a special milestone coming up why not get them a windsurfing themed card. Lea Spencer\’s new range looks pretty darned good and proceeds go to Windsurfing 4 Cancer Research whcih is a super charity. Check out the designs at

The RYA have announced that the national final of the T15 Champions Cup will be held over the weekend of October 8 and 9 at Northampton Sailing Club. More than 100 sailors will take part and it should be a right good laugh. If you want to know more, have a look on the RYA website.

We mentioned this the other day but we wanted to give you a few more details about the Rippers Freestyle Wave Camp being held at West Wittering on October 29 and 30.

The course involves two days of early starts for young guns who can plane on shortbords and waterstart along with top level coaching from, among others, Adam Simms and video analysis and it\’s all for the bargain price of £120. For more info check out or to book, call X Train on 01243 513077.

Right, back to Sylt where yesterday was another tow in freestyle session. We won\’t take you through all the heats suffice to say they were all hotly contested by the very best sailors in the world. If you do want to know more you can see all the action at

The final was quite something but ultimately it was that man, Jose Estredo, who came out on top. He clinched the 1000 Euro prize with a maximum point scoring burner into flaka. Wowsers. This year\’s freestyle champ Steven van Broeckhoven was second followed by Ricardo Campello.


Photo Credit: PWA


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.