Location –: PORTHCAWL

Hosted by – Rush Extreme in conjunction with The BKSA

Sponsors – AE Taylor Insurance, Cyclone kiteboarding, Encon Insulation, Victoria Builders, Flexifoil, Rush and Blade Kites

Media Partners – ExPix

Pictures of event at end of press release with links-

Now in its 3rd year, the British Kite Surf Association held it’s Wave Master Championships at Porthcawl, South Wales.

Previously won by Jason Furness and Nigel Howell it was going to be an interesting competition.

Hosted by Rush Extreme in conjunction with the BKSA, the Wave Master competition, held at Conney Beach, saw riders turn out in force to compete for the titles in the 4 classes; Men’s, Ladies, Senior’s (over 35) and Junior’s.

In nailbiting conditions, riders were maxed with their 6– 9m kites in the 35 knot winds and 6ft waves. Riders from all over the country gave it their best shot; the standard being extremely high. Riders were judged on their two best waves of each heat in a straight knockout competition. Storming into the final was Will Bennett from Cornwall, sponsored by; GK Kites, Santa Cruz Surfboards, Airjam and Atlantic Riders, giving a fantastic display of ‘strapless riding’ to take the Pro Men’s Wave Master title, with last years title holder Nigel Howell also riding GK Kites from, The Isle of Wight, sponsored by White Air coming a close 2nd

In the semi-final Denzil Williams from Cornwall, sponsored by; F-One, Balin, Snugg, Mystic, Airjam & West Pharmaceuticals took 3rd place narrowly beating John Ellman Brown, sponsored by Stormriders, who came 4th

In the Pro Ladies category, Welsh proved best with the top 3 riders all coming from Wales. Kirsty Jones, from West Wales, sponsored by; Animal, Flexifoil, Surfers Against Sewage & Maui Magic proved why she is one of the top wave riders in the world when she won the title for the second time in 3 years to become the BKSA Pro Ladies Wave Master Champion. Current British Freestyle Champion, Johara Sykes Davies, from Llandudno, North Wales, sponsored by; Flexifoil, Jimmy Lewis, Protest, Turbulence & Mint Condition Gym at The Imperial Hotel, Llandudno, took 2nd place, with local rider, Sarah Eager, from Porthcawl, sponsored by Rush coming 3rd.

It was an all friends final; as they all regularly ride together, in the senior category with Trevor Hayle, from Wiltshire taking a well deserved 1st place and winning a Cyclone Kiteboard and John Harris from Somerset taking 2nd place. BKSA Chairman, Richard Gowers from Dorset came 3rd

Tom Butler, from Oxford, sponsored by; F-One, Rush Extreme Sports, Chipping Norton School & Emma’s Trust, won his 1st title to become BKSA Junior Wave Master Champion. Craig Smith took 2nd place.

Richard Gowers, Chairman of the BKSA said, I would like to thank Mark Rowley of Rush Extreme for organising the event, all the riders for making the effort to attend, all our sponsors, AE Taylor Insurance, Cyclone Kiteboarding, Encon Insulation, Victoria Builders, Flexifoil, Rush and Blade Kites, The Hi Tide Inn for their hospitality and Gemma Honey Jones for the fantastic entertainment on Saturday night!

We will be issuing the dates for Wave Master events next year in January 2008 on the BKSA website watch this space.


PRO MEN 1. Will Bennett – (GK, Atlantic Riders, Airjam , Santa Cruz) 2. Nigel Howell – (White Air) 3. Denzil Williams – (F-One, Balin, Snugg, Mystic, Airjam & West Pharmaceuticals)

PRO WOMEN 1. Kirsty Jones – (Animal, Flexifoil, Surfers Against Sewage & Maui Magic) 2. Johara Sykes Davies - (Flexifoil, Jimmy Lewis, Protest & Turbulence) 3. Sarah Eager – (Rush)

SENIORS 1. Trevor Howell 2. John Harris 3. Richard Gowers

JUNIORS 1. Tom Butler – (F-One, Rush Extreme Sports, Chipping Norton School & Emma’s Trust.) 2. Craig Smith

For further information about what kitesurfing is download the following pdf guide to ride leaflet or go to the online flick book

Kind regards. Jo Edmondson ExPix Media & PR Coordinator for the BKSA

Photo Credit: Ian Edmondson - BKSA